Charming and Comfortable Medieval Home with Stunning 

Claviers, France

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Capacity: 6

$885/wk couple, $50 addnl Oct-May   $1085/wk couple, $50 addnl Jun-Sep   Children under 17 free  

Photo Gallery

Listing Main Photo

Property Description

Bedrooms: 3. Bathrooms: 3

Eveyone loves and returns to our own charming, comfortable, and immaculate 3-bedroom 3-bathroom 700 yr-old home. Each bedroom had its own full bathroom and shower. In addition you have STUNNING VIEWS in a vibrant medieval perched village away from the tourist rush. The 3 bedroom/3 bathroom (two showers, one tub) house has been completely renovated with modern amenities and has views from the three top floors. It is a short drive to beaches and lakes, but the real attraction is the setting of the village. Enjoy strolling through olive groves and vineyards just outside the village. No need to get in the car. There are excellent restaurants in Claviers, and several more in Bargemon, two miles down the road. And, the home is equipped with a wonderful kitchen. If you are more ambitious, you can take a breathtaking drive to the Gorge of Verdon, about 30 minutes, and hike through the Grand Canyon of France. Set up as our own residence for part of the year, amenities include a baby grand piano (I'm a musician), a wine-cave with 600 yr-old wine casks, a wonderful stereo, a library of guidebooks, hiking books, and guides to the historical and cultural attractions in Provence. Read the guest register to learn the discoveries of the last seven years of guests. There is broadband wireless Internet and a fax machine so you can keep abreast of business.


Main Photo
Village of Claviers
Front door

Owner Contact Information

Peter Ratener
19620 N.E. Redmond Road
Redmond, WA 98053
Click here
Website: N/A
Member Since: Oct. 31st, 2001
Other Listings:
Contact the Owner

Rental Rates

  • $885/wk couple, $50 addnl Oct-May
  • $1085/wk couple, $50 addnl Jun-Sep
  • Children under 17 free


TV , Stereo , Microwave , View Terrace , Coffee machine , Washer,dryer , Dishwasher , DVD recorder , Free Europe calls , Free U.S. calls , Free broadband Web

3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Capacity: 6

Beds: 1 King, 2 Queens

Minimum Stay: 7

Further Information

Restrictions: - Not Wheelchair Accessible

Nearby Attractions: - Hiking, sightseeing, beach, boating, eating, eating, and mor eating. Lotsa street markets, cafes, and bakeries.


Average Rank 2 Stars from 2 Renter Reviews

Rating 1 Stars

Poor customer service, would never return

As posted in the review from obijuan10, I was part of the couple that was forced to relocate due to uninhabitable conditions in the 3rd bedroom (cellar) of this house. Anyone with allergies or sensitive to mold and mildew would not be able to stay in this room. The stench of mildew was immediately apparent upon going down the stairs to the cellar. (Note: Owner does not include a picture of this room in the image gallery. Owner also does not indicate there is no door on this bedroom as well.) We spent the rest of our vacation finding new places to stay, and in prime season hotel availability in the area is limited. Owner responded to our complaints by refunding us his per couple fee ($100) which hardly compensated us for our portion of the rent of the house, not to mention the extra expense of a week of last minute hotels. Owner insisted that the other two couples should be responsible for refunding us our portion of the rent. This is completely ridiculous considering the other two couples had nothing to do with the condition of the house. I would never rent another property from this owner.

Rating 2 Stars


We just stayed in the Claviers home for one week. It boasts several nice features. We were a party of 3 couples. Having 3 bedooms & 3 baths was essential to us. When we arrived, we discovered that the bedroom in the cellar was uninhabitable. Noxious odors from mildew made it impossible for anyone in their right minds to sleep in that room. We took the owner at his word that his home offered a king and two queen-sided beds. Wrong. The king may qualify in width, but never in length. The 6'1" gentleman occupying that room found his feet dangling off the end of this very short king (made by a local craftsman who may never have slept in a king-sized bed). The other two beds represented as queen-sized might more accurately be described doubles. So we lost one of our three couples because none of us could stand to sleep in a stinky cellar. It spoiled many of our plans as the 3rd couple were forced to take up residence in a location too far for us to share meals and do other planned activities together. When we demanded a just restitution from the owner (1/3 of what we'd paid in advance), Mr. Ratener, the owner, stiffed us. He denied that his home was not exactly as he described. With a housekeeper and father-in-law nearby, it would have been easy enough for him to have trusted others verify our claim. He did not impress us as wanting to be disturbed by the truth of our quite verifyable claim. All six of us will attest to this claim. As long as the renter does not truly need a 3rd bedroom (because there are not 3 suitable bedrooms in this house), and as long as no one truly expects to sleep on a king or queen-sized bed (because there are neither), then this can be lovely home, indeed, in which to stay. We were deeply-disappointed by the several misrepresentations of the owner, to say nothing about his less-than-caring response to our grievance. Renter beware!

Add a Review

We offer a diverse selection of private vacation home rentals, condos, cabins and beach lodging in France including Claviers vacation rentals in Claviers, France.

©2018 VacationRentals411 LLC dba Vacation Rentals 411
The Future of Vacation Rentals Services. Disclaimer