Large, Sunny Studio with Private Pool and Spa 

Ocean View, Hawaii

0 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Capacity: 4

$75 Per Night for 1-2 guests   $450 Per Week for 1-2 guests   $10/ night extra for 3-4 guests  

Photo Gallery

Listing Main Photo

Property Description

Bedrooms: 0. Bathrooms: 1

Do you long for… The majesty of a panoramic ocean view lit by the glow of a tropical sunset? The grandeur of a star-filled sky unbroken by streetlights or civilization? The relaxation of watching ocean waves and swaying palms from your patio? The enjoyment of a steaming cup of coffee, a good book, and a beautiful sunrise? The solitude of a perfectly quiet evening touched only by the sounds of birdsong and breezes? But also want… The fun of swimming and relaxing in your private pool and sun deck? The joy of swimming and snorkeling with the turtles at a stunning black sand beach? The excitement of exploring a volcanic wonderland of lava flows and ancient caverns? The romance of a soothing spa and glass of wine under a tropical sky? The convenience of nearby shopping, gas, dining, and community library/clubhouse? Then this might be the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay in paradise! Located 45 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 60 miles from Hilo, we offer the wonderful experience of "Old Hawaii" with its serenity, quiet, and charm. In addition, we are ideally located to allow you to explore both sides of the Big Island. A five minute trip up to the highway takes you to the growing town of Ocean View, with its grocery and hardware stores, restaurants, gas stations, and an active community center. Nearby must-see attractions include the black sand beach at Punalu'u, the green-sand beach and cliffs at South Point, Volcano National Park, and Kula Kai caverns. For the hikers, don't miss walking about 2 ½ miles down to the beach and lagoon at Pohue Bay where you will likely have it to yourselves (especially on a week day). A quick trip to the quaint town of Na'alehu lets you avail yourselves of organically grown local produce, local style restaurants with live music, and a fabulous bakery. Journeying a bit further takes you through lush rainforest to the Kapoho Tidepools with its outstanding snorkeling and abundant sea life. On the Kona side, you can take time to kayak with the dolphins in Kealakekua Bay and enjoy one of the best snorkeling spots in the state! Of course, you can always head up to Kona or Hilo and enjoy the many sights and experiences they offer and still have plenty of time to return home for dinner on the lanai at sunset. Hale Li'ili'i Maluhia, or "Little House of Peace", is at 600' elevation and 2 miles from the coast, providing panoramic ocean views and perf


Main Photo
Pool deck

Owner Contact Information

Private Owner
N College
Fresno, CA 93704
Click here
Website: N/A
Member Since: Nov. 24th, 2009
Other Listings: View here
Contact the Owner

Rental Rates

  • $75 Per Night for 1-2 guests
  • $450 Per Week for 1-2 guests
  • $10/ night extra for 3-4 guests


Pool , Spa , Broadband Internet , WIFI , Gas BBQ , Dish Network , Ice Cream Maker

0 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Capacity: 4

Beds: 1 King, 1 Sleeper Sofa

Minimum Stay: 3 Night Minimum

Ocean View

Further Information

$100 cleaning fee, $250 refundable cleaning/damage deposit

Restrictions: - Min age 25 (exc children

Nearby Attractions: - Black sand beach, Golf, Hiking, Pohue Bay, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Kipoho Tide Pools, Natural Hot Springs, Volcano National Park


Average Rank 5 Stars from 3 Renter Reviews

Rating 4 Stars
September 27th, 2011

The Woods

MY family and I had a memorable time at this Large & sunny studio! And it is quite large, much larger than I had imagined! Plenty of room for our family of 4! Upon arrival we were a little dissapointed at how run down the yard was, but did speak with the owner about it and since may have cleaned it up! But can't tell you enough how much fun we had with the personal pool & hot tub! We were lucky to not have anyone in the house above us for most of our stay, so we had the place to ourselves! The area is quite remote & quiet which was really nice, but there is also a grocery store, gas, hardware store and places to eat nearby. You are surounded by lava and wouldn't recommend venturing out in the neighborhood to far, do to some crazy protective dogs in the area. One nearly attacked me on a morning run and one broke it's chain and did try to attack our car! No joke! Even though it is a long drive to Hilo or Kona from Ocean View, we did enjoy being in the middle of the two. There is some really good snorkeling close by at Hookenna Beach and also fairly close to the Volcano National Park which is a must! Especially stop in at night to see the volcano glowing! Would definatley recommend this studio to friends & family & the owner is super helpful and accomidating to your needs! The only other thing I would mention is that if you want to use the hot tub, you are in charge paying for the propane to heat it everytime you use it!

Owner Response: Hey, Tiffany... Glad you enjoyed your time. And I am glad you found it to be plenty of room for your family, but I must admit I would find it a bit challenging for 4 people (we have found it great for two, but 10 days with 4...I don't know. ;-) Our caretakers have gone in and weeded a bit. I can't fault them, though. Because of our drought conditions lately, if something is green and growing we kind of want them to let it grow. Kind of softens the starkness of the lava fields in the area! We were surprised about your comments about the dogs...we walked several times a week when we were there with no problems. Maybe you just went further afield then we did. Thanks for the heads up for future guests. perhaps they can drive their walking/jogging route before they go out to make sure all is well. Anyway, thanks for your review. I am sure that potential guests will find it helpful Mahalo, Bob and Sue

Rating 5 Stars
September 19th, 2011

lovely getaway!

this place is excellent! i stayed here (in the bottom floor studio) mid september 2011. I am walking disabled, and while this studio is not specifically wheelchair accessible, with the owner's kind assistance, it was quite manageable. it's a very large studio, with an open floor plan, so worked quite well for a power scooter/wheelchair. i did bring my own small board to use as a ramp, and Bob (owner) supplied a piece of 2" x 4" to prop it up on, and it worked well to get in and out the one step into the sliding patio door. he was also kind enough to go out of his way and buy a shower seat to have there for me, so that was also not a problem. it's a beautiful home, altho very isolated. if you want a secluded getaway, this is it! Ocean View is south of Kona about 1 hour, so it was a kind of long drive to go back and forth if kona is where you want to be; but a very pretty drive. and while i did do that a few days of the week i stayed here, (had to leave Ocean View at 6am. to get to an 8am. dive boat in kona!) i also spent a couple of days going nowhere.. and had a very excellent and relaxing rest with a great pool ( a little chilly in overcast weather), an excellent hot tub, and a lovely view of the coast and ocean. be aware it is out in the middle of a lava field..... pretty much nothing there but houses dotting the lava here and there, but i really liked it! kind of a "desert" feel in the tropics of hawaii.. it's the last house on the last street of this subdivision, so it's a good 10 minute drive from the highway, and very isolated. and there's no phone, so be sure you have a cell phone. My AT&T worked fine there. Bob, the owner, was very kind to my many annoying calls (as a disabled traveler, i always to be very specific about stairs and access) as well as going out of his way to make it as accessible as possible, and granting me a few specific concessions to my disability. thanks bob! note to other wheelchair travelers.( there are 2 steps going up to the pool, and one more to the hot tub) there were no upstairs guests to share it with me when i was there, so i basically had this lovely little oasis totally to myself! it was very windy when i was there,and somewhat overcast a lot of the time, but that may be due to when i visited. I i highly recommend it for romantic getaways, and quiet "do not disturb" vacations.... if you want hustle and bustle and nightlife, you're at least an hour from that. pool clothing optional if you're alone!

Owner Response: Deb, Deb, Deb...It was a lot of fun, wasn't it! It makes me smile now as I remember your witty remarks and fun loving comments. Thanks for your gracious words and your inspiration. Nothing slows you down!!! And I certainly agree...if someone wants to spend most of there time in Kona or Kohala, their are better choices (albeit, more expensive!) Thanks again for choosing to stay with us. Bob and Sue

Rating 5 Stars
August 8th, 2011

Unique studio!

Very nice studio. Perfect location away from people. Very good experience before & after our stay with the owner. Nice pool & jacuzzi. Amazing sitting in the jacuzzi at night & watching the stars. Unique location & close to the volcano. If you are looking for a location away from hotels & noise & lights, this is the perfect place. Would rent again!

Owner Response: Dmitri, we am glad you and your new bride enjoyed your time! And we agree...stargazing from the hot tub is pretty fantastic! Hopefully you were able to enjoy the sunrises and sunsets as well. Bob and Sue

Add a Review

We offer a diverse selection of private vacation home rentals, condos, cabins and beach lodging in Hawaii including Ocean View vacation rentals in Ocean View, Hawaii.

©2018 VacationRentals411 LLC dba Vacation Rentals 411
The Future of Vacation Rentals Services. Disclaimer